Click here to visit the Confederation Trail Website

The Confedration Trail

The Confederation Trail was developed on abandoned railway beds, and takes you across the Island, past wetlands and through hardwood groves, through quaint villages, and along sparkling rivers.

The Confederation Trail was completed in August 2000, and was designated Prince Edward Island's portion of the Trans Canada Trail; the first province to complete its section.  Since then, Island communities have been working to add spur connections and to provide upgraded amenities to the trail.

In the summer season, activity on the Confederation Trail is limited to walking, hiking, running, cycling, and is accessible to wheelchairs.  In the snow months it is turned over exclusively to snowmobile use.  Alternative  trails for equestrian use are provided in both the western and eastern areas of the Island.

The Confederation Trail Cycling Guide will help you plan your cycling vacation on the Confederation Trail. Included in the guide are accommodations which participate in the "Cyclists Welcome Program", which take the needs of cyclists into consideration and make their properties welcoming and easy for cyclists.

Cliquez ici pour visiter le site Web du Sentier de la Confédération.


Sentier de la Confédération


Aménagé le long de voies ferrées abandonnées, le Sentier de la Confédération parcourt des terres humides et des boisés de feuillus, traverse des villages pittoresques et sillonne des rivières étincelantes.

En août 2000, l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard est devenue la première province canadienne à compléter sa section du Sentier transcanadien. Le Sentier de la Confédération a alors été désigné comme tronçon du Sentier transcanadien de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Depuis, diverses collectivités de l'Île travaillent à l'aménagement d'embranchements et à l'amélioration des infrastructures du sentier.

Durant l'été, les activités permises sur le Sentier de la Confédération se limitent à la marche, à la randonnée pédestre, à la course et au vélo. Le sentier est également accessible aux personnes en fauteuil roulant. Durant l'hiver, le sentier est réservé exclusivement aux motoneigistes. Des sentiers d'équitation sont aussi accessibles dans les régions est et ouest de l'île.

Le Guide du vélo sur le Sentier de la Confédération vous aidera à planifier vos vacances de cyclisme sur le Sentier de la Confédération. Vous y trouverez les établissements d'hébergement qui participent au nouveau programme « Bienvenue aux cyclistes », donc qui prennent en considération les besoins des cyclistes et qui rendent leur propriété accueillante et facile d'accès pour les visiteurs en vélo.